An Actual Day Off!

I still can’t quite believe it myself.

Today, for the first time in I can’t remember how long, I have had an actual honest to god genuine day off. Even on the days I’ve been at home recently it’s been “oh my god I haven’t finished that assignment yet” or “oh no, I forgot to talk to so-and-so about such-and-such” or “Mum I need to clear the table so I can make quarter marker templates out of cardboard”. Not today. Today I have done….nothing. Oh what sweet nothing!

I had a super long lovely leisurely lie-in, which was very welcome indeed. Although my phone decided to wake me up at 5am by buzzing to tell me it had no battery. I threw it on the floor, and went back to sleep. I don’t want any techno-cruelty lectures thank you, it had it coming!

I have spent the rest of the day just chilling. I played on my DS for the first time, and realised that one of my new games doesn’t work which is a shame as it’s a pokemon game and I was looking forward to it. I’ve been playing other games though, and really enjoying not having anywhere to be.

I even wore a skirt today! Something feminine, I know, it’s shocking. I spend so much time in jodhpurs and jeans that I almost forget I’m a girl half the time. Skirts and dresses lie abandoned and forgotten in my wardrobe. But not today. Oh no, on my first real day off, I wore tights and a skirt to celebrate the occasion.

One thing I have realised, however, is that I shouldn’t have days like this too often. It only serves to emphasise how abominably knackered I am. I actually feel more exhausted having a day to relax than if I’d been on the yard. I have to be careful during holidays etc to not let go too much otherwise I end up ill or just so severely lacking in energy that I struggle to leave my room. So while it’s been nice, I think I’ll limit my chill out days.

Not to worry, I’ll be back to doing stuff again tomorrow. Mum and I are off to college to ride. Yup, Mum’s got a riding lesson. Her first one in rather a lot of years. I think she’s quite nervous, but she’s got nothing to worry about. She’ll be riding the gorgeous, steady and gentle Victor, and I trust all of the instructors wholeheartedly when it comes to their teaching, so I have no worries on that score whatsoever. She’ll be fine, I think it’s more the anticipation than anything. Hopefully once she’s sitting on dear Victor, she’ll relax into it and feel quite happy. I will be having a private lesson after her, that was offered to me as a kind of payback for some of the extra duties I’ve done.

For now, I’m going to spend the rest of the evening continuing to do not a lot. It’ll be time to eat soon I think although I have a terrible feeling my Dad has made a cauliflower curry. I have a rather serious aversion to cauliflower (I’m not allergic, I just can’t stand it) so I do hope he won’t take it personally…I do worry about upsetting people when they’ve gone to the effort to make something. But if you can’t stomach it, what are you meant to do?!

Become a horse, I think. They pick out the bits they don’t want and no-one says anything!

Any thoughts?

