Empty Days

Having time to spare is dull

It’s been such a long time since I last had any real time to spare, that now I’ve got loads of it I don’t really know what to do with myself. I’ve spent the last couple of days just sitting around. Of course, I keep an eye on the chickens and trip over the dogs at random intervals, but on the whole I have basically nothing to do.

Okay, that’s a lie. I should be packing for Ireland. But I’ve never been very good at stuff like that. I tend to be all motivated and “yeah awesome, let’s get my pack on” for the first bit, and then halfway through I just get bored and don’t want to play anymore. So I stop and never carry on.  Which leaves me throwing random things into a suitcase twenty minutes before I have to leave. Ah well…that won’t happen this time. I hope..

It’s still so hot though. It makes everything so much harder to actually do because the heat just pulls you down and drains your energy. I also keep forgetting to eat properly because in this kind of heat, the last thing I want to do is eat. It’s been water water water for me.

I want to go back to college and see the horses. I miss them, especially my Starry boy. I should be going in for a few hours on Wednesday though, so I’ll get to see him before I go to Ireland. Huzzah. I do love that pony. If the days last week were anything to go by though, it’s really hard work on the yard in this scorching weather. The simplest things, like carrying a water bucket or reaching up to put on a horses bridle become that bit more difficult just because you’re hot.

While I really want it to be lovely weather all summer to make Ireland the best that it can be, but I’m slightly concerned that Tillie and I are either going to completely fry, or melt. Either way, it won’t be pretty.

But…in 6 days time I will be safely arrived and settling in at Eclipse.

Can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Empty Days

  1. Found my way here from Saddles & Suitcases – love that blog and so far have loved all your posts. I started reading from the beginning, so bear with me as I catch up. 😉

      • I’m loving your posts, sorry I posted too quickly earlier. I really admire your taking on such a challenge and love your writing style.
        It is wonderful to see your approach to learning to ride/horses as an empassioned adult – I’ll refrain from commenting anymore until I am completely caught up!

Any thoughts?

