Be A Man…

 

“You must be swift as the coursing rain…”

“With all the force of a great typhoon, with all the strength of a raging fire, mysterious as the dark side of, the mooooon.”

After a less than welcome wake up, I got myself together and headed into Hereford to pick up Miss Tillington and go to college for the day. I had lots and lots of fun with the traffic before eventually making it to college. There were three, yes three, post vans just sitting in the middle of the road, not doing anything. Crazy shit!

We actually had a pretty good day on the yard. It was Sonya and Eileen in charge with me and Tillie, Emma and Becky and then the three level two students, Elsie, Cha and Georgia. We got all the morning yard duties done in pretty good time and then spent a nice long time shifting bales of shavings around. They weigh 25kg each and we had 46 of them to shift from a pallet (and the floor) into one of the tool sheds. Obviously with my epic muscle power I was able to carry three at a time with one hand…

I jest. I only carried one at a time. But, I didn’t really think much of it. Check me out! Miss Superstrong over here. Emma’s boyfriend Dan said that one of the guys on his course called my car ‘gay.’ To which I responded “well, it’s a girls car anyway…and I bet I could beat him up.” I totally could. I don’t even know who this kid is, but I can tell. I’d deck him.

 We had another rave while poo-picking today, as per. I don’t mind poo-picking so long as it can be made fun. Which, with a bit of music and a complete lack of shame, it always is! So I turned my phone up…and put it in my bra. Because I didn’t have any pockets on me.

And when I wandered off down the field to collect a lovely pile, Tillie shouted across to me “Meg, turn it up, I can’t hear your boob.” Which, naturally, had us creased up with laughter. In the middle of a field. I think the level two girls were a bit confused by us at first as we were dancing around the field quite merrily, singing along to “Moves Like Jagger” at the top of our lungs. Dignity? Never heard of it!

After lunch we got quite a cool opportunity. Sonya suggested that the second years (that’s us!) give lunge lessons to the level twos. I feel quite confident lungeing now having had quite a lot of practice both at college and in Ireland, but giving a lunge lesson? Well now, that’s a different basket of bananas. I rose to the challenge though, with delight.

I really enjoyed it actually. I slipped up a couple of times where I was so focused on teaching the girl on the horse that I forgot to keep the horse moving, but on the whole I think it went really well. I felt I got across the right information in a clear way and I could definitely see improvement in the student throughout the lesson. She communicated well with me too, so I had a better idea of how to help her improve. It was a great opportunity to be given, and I’m really pleased I was able to exceed my own expectations doing it.

Because to be honest, I thought I was going to mess up big time. I was expecting to be fumbling around, losing control of the horse and confusing my student completely. But then, I do tend to think the worst of myself. Also, if I’d been nervous then maybe I would have messed up more, but I was actually perfectly calm about the whole thing. Maybe because the girl I was teaching was so easy going about it. Or maybe because somewhere deep down I knew I could do it. Whatever the cause for my success, I loved it. I can’t wait to do more!

It wasn’t until we were driving back to Tillie’s that I even realised we hadn’t sat on horses ourselves. We did some serious power mucking out after teaching the girls and got yards finished just in time for them to run for the bus. We were so busy. It was good actually, to be working all day. It suits me I think.

And, sitting in Tillie’s living room, we listened to cool music and “I’ll Make a Man out of You” from Mulan is pretty damn awesome. I know all the words….and I could totally be a man. Okay, that sounds weird. Well, Mulan managed it. So why couldn’t I?! I’m totally swift as the coursing rain with all the force of a great typhoon and the strength of a raging fire. I’m even mysterious as the dark side of the moon. Oh yes.

I’ll tell you where there’s no mystery though;
River Cruises.

Any thoughts?

