The Floor Will Catch You!

When in doubt, throw yourself at the floor.

I got stuck up a tree today. When I turned to Tillie with a squeak she simply laughed at me and said “don’t worry, just jump, the floor will catch you.” I hung around in the tree for a while first, not wanting to look too idiotic after my intrepid climbing. But eventually I had no choice. So I threw myself at the floor with gusto. And fortunately Tillie was right, the floor did catch me. Only my feet though, thankfully.

We went for a jaunt in Queenswood this afternoon. It is a very beautiful park and arboretum. I used to go there a lot with my family, when I was a kid. There are pictures of me and my brothers skipping along through the trees with our backpacks on. It’s been a very long time since I was last there. It was nice to go back and revisit. I do love trees.

I remember the redwood grove always being my favourite part. I’m happy to report that it still is. We wandered along for a while, exploring different paths and making our own way rather than following the set trails. The sun was out and while we were covered by the green canopy of the trees, it was beautiful to see the light streaming in through the leaves. Patches of golden light lit up the paths and forest floor. Pretty.

After meandering around, climbing on logs and up trees, we found ourselves at the redwood grove. We had to jump a rather wide ditch to get across to it (because we went the awkward way, obviously) which Tillie seemed to find harder than I did. And I was the one in a dress! But we made it in and I immediately went to hug one of the redwoods. I really do love them. They’re so majestic. Man are they big trees. And considering that this grove is still relatively young (planted in 1957) they’re probably going to get even bigger. We found one that would have taken about four of us to wrap our arms around it. Beautiful, massive, magical trees.

There was also a lovely bear statue in the redwood grove. Actually, there were two statues, although one of them was a young bear halfway up the tree. At the base of the tree stands the mother. I don’t think it’s a scale model, as she’s not very tall, but she is lovely. Tillie gave her a nice big hug and a low five.

After our excursion we returned to Tillie’s house and proceeded to watch one of the best films ever made. The Princess Bride. Love it. Just love it. Given that we spend most of our time quoting various lines from it, we were able to join in with most of the script. It still makes me giggle though, even when I know what’s coming. To throw out some of my personal favourites:

Westley: I told you I would always come for you. Why didn’t you wait for me?
Buttercup: Well… you were dead.
Westley: Death cannot stop true love. All it can do is delay it for a while.”

“Mawage. Mawage is wot bwings us togeder tooday. Mawage, that bwessed awangment, that dweam wifin a dweam…”

Buttercup: We’ll never survive.
Westley: Nonsense. You’re only saying that because no one ever has.”

“It just so happens that your friend here is only MOSTLY dead. There’s a big difference between mostly dead and all dead. Mostly dead is slightly alive.”

If you’ve never seen the film, go and watch it. Because without it, these quotes will mean nothing and particularly the second one will leave you very confused indeed. You have to be able to hear the voice in your head when you read it. Aah so funny. Love it.

What a lovely way to spend a Saturday. A proper day off. Oh yes. Ha, and we attempted to make banana pancakes this morning. Tillie managed to super cleverly forget to put in any flour. And tried to use coconut oil instead of butter in the pan. So she made some lovely banana sludge. My attempts weren’t much better in all honesty. They had a slightly better consistency, given that we’d actually put flour in by this point, but I managed to burn them a fair bit. Next time, we’ll do it right and it’ll taste good.

For now though, I’ll be seeing you.
Over and out.

Any thoughts?

