What’s In A Year?

2013 has been an interesting year.

Here are the ten most memorable moments from the last year, from my eyes.

1. Got snowed in at my friends house the first time I ever visited.

2. My grandparents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary, bringing relatives together from all over the place for a ceilidh.

3. College Open Day; a massive success all round, and I rode in the musical ride which was bloody brilliant.

4. Ireland – where I had the best summer of my life, made the most amazing friends, and learned more than I ever imagined I would, horsey and otherwise.

5. Vaulting in Ireland. Biggest rush I’ve ever had.

6. Jumping – started jumping in earnest during riding lessons at college on a variety of horses, some more challenging than others.

7. Fox – I began riding a horse with whom I’ve ended up getting on better than I do with most people.

8. Grandpa – my Grandpa had a stroke and it took a long time for him to start recovering which was scary. He’s well on his way now though.

9. October Half Term – went back to Ireland for another great week; I got to ride Sparky ❤

10. Kat – my beautiful friend came home from China for Christmas and took a few days out of her family time to come see me. It meant the world, and was a lovely lovely few days.

On the whole, most of those memorable moments are brilliant positive sunshiney things that make me smile just thinking about them. With the exception of my Grandpa being ill, but it was such a shock that I’ll always remember the phone call and the slight tremble in my Mum’s voice when she told me. 2013 hasn’t been horrific by any means. For the most part, it’s been pretty good. I could look back at all the things I’ve done and said over the past year and wonder whether if I’d not said that or done that differently, the whole year might have turned out differently. And the truth is, it’s probably true. But where’s the fun in that?! I think this is the song I would choose to sum up the majority of my 2013.

While I’ve never really gone for the whole “Oh my gosh, New Year’s Eve, what an amazing time of year” stuff, I do think that the beginning of a new year brings a huge amount of potential and hope. For me, the coming year is both scary and exciting. I finish my college course around May/June, and I have absolutely no clue what I’m going to do next. I know that up until then I’m going to be busy. Busier than I was before. Now that I’m on the books as part time staff on the college yard as well as being a student, the majority of my time is going to be spent over there. I have no doubt that all the sleep I’ve caught up on over this holiday will be lost again in a very short space of time. But it’s another step closer to doing what I want to do. And while I haven’t quite worked out exactly what that is yet…I’ll get there eventually.

So I’m absolutely terrified of 2014. Because I don’t know what will happen in the second half of it. I have so many things I want to do and places I want to go. And I have no idea whether I’ll achieve any of it. But it’s also exciting. Because there is so much potential for adventure and new experiences. I’ve never been shy of embracing opportunity, and now that it’s starting to matter, I am determined to make every day count. Whether it’s towards my career prospects, relationships with others or my own personal happiness. 2014 is going to be full of days that make a difference.

Because by this time next year, when I look back on 2014 and try to pinpoint my ten most memorable moments, I want to be overwhelmed by the memories to the point that I cannot possibly pick out just ten. I want the list to be as long as is humanly possible. I want 2014 to be a year to remember. I have high hopes and big dreams and at some point along the line, they’re going to become reality. 2014 might just be the one to do it.

So my resolutions, as it were, are thus:
1. Make every day count.
2. Make a shedload of memories.
3. Finish college with a flourish.
4. Have adventures.

And to all of you I say this; make 2014 the best possible year. Take every chance, throw caution to the wind and live it as fully as you can. Because if you make it count, it’ll be worth it.

No matter how scared and alone any of us might end up, I know it won’t last for long. So, what are we waiting for. Oh yeah, midnight. Okay fine. But after that…

Bring it.

Any thoughts?

