Photographic Evidence

I wonder if you’ll remember.

You know how a couple of months ago I wrote about how I took part in a charity fashion show for St Richard’s Hospice, run by my dear friend Sarah? It was in March, so it’s a bit of a stretch to claw back the memory, I know. But I posted about the event and how scary and exciting it all was. Well, I finally have pictures.

Yup, see, proof that I did in fact wear make-up (lots of it), have my hair styled, and wear normal/fancy clothes as opposed to my normal outfit of jodhpurs, top and boots. I was, for one evening, an actual girl.

The other girl in these pictures with me is the lovely Melissa, who you might remember I mentioned as my catwalk buddy. She and I were only able to march down that catwalk because we knew the other one was next to us! It was a scary experience at first but having a friend beside you made it that little bit easier.

I’ll be honest, my poses were a little lacklustre. I kinda just stood there, as you can see. But I was so nervous I didn’t really know what to do with myself. I think the pictures portray that quite well. Although in this next pictures I genuinely didn’t recognise myself for a bit. Jenni thought I was trying not to laugh, but I remember being totally petrified and my legs wouldn’t stop shaking. At this point, I was pressing as hard as I could into my feet to try and control my nerves. Nightmare!

I also didn’t realise just how grumpy I looked. I wasn’t in a bad mood, honest! We were told to stay straight faced. Turns out I have one of those faces, you know, the ones that always look pissed off, even when you’re not.

I also remember spending most of my time trying to ignore the photographers, because they terrified me. And focusing on not slipping over when I walked. Which probably explains the slightly tense concentration on my face while I’m walking. Hey, I’m not a professional okay? I’m allowed to be mildly concerned about tripping over in front of a crowd of people as I walk down some steps wearing high heels for the first time since I can remember.

I think this last picture coming up is my favourite. The lighting and everything makes us look really quite dramatic, and I guess that was the whole point what with the make-up and the hair and the music. We were walking to Seven Nation Army, White Stripes, at this point. Such a fantastic beat to walk to, it really gets into your blood. And I’ll be honest and admit that when I’m listening to a song with a strong beat, I tend to find myself trying to walk in time to it, even now. Ridiculous, but it’s almost like a reflex.

So there you have it boys and girls, I really am a woman. I can wear dresses and make-up and have my hair done and walk in heels and have photos taken and all those things, without freaking out or running away or looking like a total plonker. I say ‘total’ because I am aware that I do look like a bit of an idiot, but then as I mentioned earlier, I’m not a professional and this was all for charity. The fact that I didn’t bottle it is pretty impressive to be honest!

If I can do something like that, so far out of my comfort zone,  then I know for sure I can do anything.

Allons-y

4 thoughts on “Photographic Evidence

    • Thank you 🙂 It was one of the most terrifying things I’ve ever done, much scarier than anything horse. My legs were shaking the whole time, but it was a wonderful experience and I’m so glad I did it 🙂

  1. Well done! You look pretty professional to me and I’ve watched loads of Next Top Model over the years, so I am obviously well qualified to judge 😉 Also I’m pretty sure grumpy is a thing models do all the time, so just call it your trademark!

    • Haha thank you 🙂 I appreciate it. Mmm yeah Melissa and I realised that if we can pull of grumpy and bored that well, then we must be naturals haha!

Any thoughts?

